a little nourishment

Standard

“Anyone who tells a lie has not a pure heart, and cannot make a good soup.”

-Ludwig Beethovan 

I can’t explain how excited I am about the turning wheel of the year.  I deliberately chose to move somewhere with the 4 distinct seasons to experience.  The leaves are turning.  The evenings and mornings have graduated to hoodie weather (which reminds me that I only own one, which is fine, because I don’t like a whole lot of stuff.  It’s awesome because it’s a Universite de Paris Sorbonne one but sucks because it’s got an itty bitty hood.  Fabulous but not functional.)

One of my favorite parts of the changing weather is to adjust my diet accordingly.

One of my personal goals is to really eat more and more locally and seasonally, mostly from my food shed, and move towards a wilder diet.

This is what I made for dinner last night (and polished off for breakfast this morning.)  It is local (check) seasonal (mostly) and so nourishing!

(I would have taken a picture but I really inhaled this stuff!)

What you’ll need (please choose local sources if you can!)

1 pound of lamb stew meat that has been marinated at room temperature for at least 8 hours  (mine: 48 hours) in 1/4 cup raw apple cider vinegar and 2 tablespoons of Vindaloo spices….or whatever you prefer. (Since I live in Vermont, I was able to find both of these locally, too!)  (This is technically a spring meat so next time, I’m hoping to track down some venison or moose.)

at least 1/2 stick butter (cultured if you have it available locally)

2 chopped carrots-bite size

1 or 2 chopped sweet potatoes-bite size

broth (I used a shortcut, store bought organic one, but when I have a more operational kitchen, this is something that I ALWAYS have in the freezer.)

This really couldn’t be easier and you can obviously play around with the spices, the meat, and the veg. for each season.

The first thing is to melt the butter in a hot pot.  Remove the lamb from the marinade and brown it nicely on both sides.  Add the carrots and sweet potatoes.  Stir and coat the veg. with the butter.  Add enough broth to cover the whole thing by an inch or two.  Bring to a boil.  When the potatoes are soft, it’s ready.  Salt to taste.

I added some of my home fermented pickles all chopped up to this.  When there is a chill in the air, this really satisfies!  For those who are still sopping sweat off their brow, tuck this recipe away for a month or two.

Leave a Reply

